top of page
  • Lauren

SOCIAL MEDIA AND A SELF OF SELF: DO THEY RELATE?

"The degree to which users feel connected to a virtual environment, influences the actions of individuals within the environment"

(Banos et al., 2008; Welch, 1999 ).

Social media dominates modern society. These days connection is built through likes, tweets, comments, and shares. These digital communities are run by many people from young to old, but the real question is when does the digital world start to run you?

Now what I mean by that is, at what point do we become so emotionally dependent on the apps beyond a screen that a strangers opinion of us determines our sense of self? and why do we let it happen? That being said, social media is also an amazing asset to our lives. When used positively and in moderation it is the perfect outlet of creativity, expression, and extension of our physical personas.

Instagram is one of the world’s leading social media sites. It has hundreds of millions of users and daily customer interactions on a global scale. I use Instagram a lot to post pictures, follow things I’m interested in and catch up on all the latest and greatest. Mainly I use it to project my life in the way I want people to view it. This may sound concerning to some; however, this is one of the many affordances of the platform. I get to portray myself and my life how I want someone to see it. That may mean I change my entire self and personality to fit the image I desire or I can portray myself as I am. I however, choose to be truly me on social media, a real, authentic version of me. BUT, that doesn't mean I’m posting everything about my life including the not so fun stuff, I post what is me just certain parts of me. Party gal me, happy me, me with friends, me with family, adventures of me, the stuff I love and want people to see.

Instagram allows you to post whatever you want under community guidelines, follow friends and featured accounts, like, comment and share posts, post a story, and use filters, affects and stickers to spice up your digital presence. These all help establish a sense of self for users as you can tailor the entire experience in how you want to present yourself to the world (Jiang and Ngien, 2020).

Instagram further allows users to curate personal audiences. This is through following accounts and allowing them to follow you back to which you want them to view your content. For example, the intended audience of my digital persona is my friends and family who view my account on a regular basis, however, it is also meant for other people my age who I may know mutually. Oppositely, the audience of a professional persona would vary to businesses and other professionals you are attempting to attract to your business or services. Both can be on both a national and international scale.


Instagram allows you to develop a sense of self whether that’s curated or authentic and present it to the audience you decide. Therefore, the answer to the initial posed question is yes, your sense of self and use of social media do in fact relate.


Commentaires


bottom of page